Title: And This Is TrueAnd This Is True

Author: Emily Mackie

Date Finished: 21/03/12

Re-Read? : First time read

Challenges? : No

Overall: 3/5 – just average


I have to start by saying this book was pretty weird! I was given it for my birthday last year and I was quite excited as my copy is actually signed!  I am not really sure what I expected this book to be about, but it certainly wasn’t this.

The plot was very strange to say the least.  From the blurb you really don’t get a clue as to what is going to happen.  Basically, the narrator, Nevis, has lived in a van with his Dad for as long as he can remember.  He is now a teenager and starting to develop, however he is developing a ‘love’ for his father that is more than in a family way.  I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone who wants to read this book, but he acts upon these feelings and shocks his Dad into action – he takes them to a farm and attempts to bring Nevis back into normal life.

Sound like a peculiar story? Well it definitely is.  I think the reason I only gave this book 3/5 was because  I couldn’t really sympathise and I definitely couldn’t empathise with Nevis.  This was quite a big problem as the book is in the first person, so you only have access to Nevis’ rather unconventional thoughts.  I couldn’t relate to how he was feeling at all, even though the book is well written.

For example, Nevis talks about how hearing a person’s voice (that isn’t his father’s) makes him feel physically sick and nervous.  Whilst it was well explained and interesting, this was still very hard for me to understand.  It was interesting to read about someone who is not secure in their own mind but I think it was all a bit too much.

Also, there weren’t really any characters that I liked.  Nevis was too odd, Marshall was much too moody (one of my serious pet hates), Ailsa was annoying, Duckman was unrealistic etc etc.

The prose however was great and the story is written delicately and explicitly, which is quite something.  For anyone who is interested in characters with mental unconventialities (I don’t say problems because I think that is quite offensive), this book is an eye-opener.  However, if you are looking for a good story with great characters, I suggest you pick something else.

