Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Date Finished: 30/03/12

Re-Read? : First time read

Challenges? : No

Overall: 5/5 – absolutely fantastic

I decided to accelerate this book instead of putting it at the end of my TBR shelf as I normally do with new books, as my sister and lots of my friends were saying to me “You HAVE to read this book”.  Also, the film is now out and I didn’t want to risk going to see it without reading the book first (one thing I can’t stand is reading a book after I’ve seen the film version!).  To be honest, I am really happy I prioritised this book as I really enjoyed reading it and couldn’t put it down!

The plot is really where this novel stands out.  So fast moving, it is unreal and completely gripping.  The beginning of the book is just normal, but when The Hunger Games actually begin, I was a goner!   Literally, I came home from school on Friday and read solidly for hours.  I already mentioned in my Friday Quick Wrap-Up that I haven’t read so quickly and compulsively since I read Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy!

The characters are good.  I wouldn’t say they are great, as quite a few often annoyed me and I thought they were a bit unrealistic, but I did end up caring about many of them and willing them on.  I didn’t forget who each character was and what their traits and personalities were once, which shows they have been well-crafted.

I did think the prose did its job extremely well.  What I mean is that this book is designed to be adventure and the prose delivers this perfectly.  There isn’t a huge amount of description compared to the vast amount of action, but that doesn’t matter.  The sentences were often short and snappy and really created tension well.  There is something extremely readable about Collins’ prose – people I know who certainly aren’t readers have been reading this book as obsessively as I did and I think that is really special.  It brings me so much pleasure to see people who I know think reading is a chore and a waste of time opening up their bags and taking these books out.  I really commend Collins for writing a book that is so widely respected and enjoyed by so many young (and I expect older) people.

I think I am going to wait a while before reading the next two books in the series, as there is no film pressure for them and I want to spread out the trilogy.  It will definitely be exciting to see what happens next!

All in all, if you are looking for something exciting or quick or interesting or different or easy-to-read or brilliant or pretty much anything, go out and buy this book now!  I can pretty much guarantee that you will become hooked very quickly and then you can go and see the film to see how the two media compare!

