I have seen this post flying around recently, so thought I’d join in.  I am currently camping in Bude with my friends as you are probably aware, so this is a scheduled post – I’ll get back to you soon.

Do you snack while you read? If so, favourite reading snack:
This usually depends what time of day it is – sometimes I will snack on some fruit or sweets or anything lying around, but I get the majority of my reading done in bed and I never eat then.

What is your favourite drink while reading?
Well I am a Brit so I do love a good cup of tea, especially in the Winter, but mostly I just like water or orange juice in the summer.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
Well this is an interesting one.  The idea of writing in book certainly doesn’t horrify me, but I don’t do it that often.  For books written in English I very very occasionally underline or highlight or annotate a particularly meaningful sentence but this is very rare.
However, when I read Harry Potter in French, I absolutely covered it with notation – I looked up the majority of words I didn’t know, underlined and translated them.  Also, I wrote a glossary of specific HP things at the front, such as teachers, the Hogwarts houses etc etc.
I like the idea of using some paper as a bookmark and making some notes on that; I think I will try this with the next classic I read.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
I try and keep my books in good condition, so that they last longer and are still nice to look at after reading!  However, I do think that breaking the spine is (in most cases) inevitable and acceptable…but I do (subconsciously) break it evenly!
So as you can see I am quite proud and careful with my books, therefore a usually use a bookmark, especially as I have collected some very nice ones over the years.

Fiction, non-fiction, or both?
I definitely read mostly fiction, but that is not to say I don’t read non-fiction.  I occasionally read biographies and like the idea of reading more historical and scientific/mathematical books in the future.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
I can stop anywhere, but I prefer to stop after a chapter, as that usually means I am not halfway through something important.  I think it is very restrictive to read only in chapters and think in modern day life it is a luxury most of us cannot indulge in.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?
The short answer is no.  I don’t think I have ever been irritated enough to throw or drop a book – I am quite a tolerant person and never usually read things that I don’t expect to be good anyway!

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
Well when I read in French, I look up most words I don’t know but make a logical guess at the others (I do study Latin so can usually have a good crack) – it would take too long to look up every word.
In English, I look up (or make a note to look up later) words I don’t know and if it’s quite common or a false friend I sometimes make a note of it.  There is a dictionary permanently beside my bed and I have one on my phone too.

What are you currently reading?
I am currently reading Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins and am just starting to get into it.  Next up I think will be The Subtle Knife or The Time Traveler’s Wife.

What is the last book you bought?
The last book I bought was The Full Cupboard of Life by Alexander McCall Smith and before that was The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

Do you have a favourite time/place to read?
I love reading in bed but my favourite place is on the sofa in my lounge with a cushion acting as table for my book.  I find it really comfortable there.
I really don’t mind what time I read – I just like to have a good long stretch of time available so I can really get into the book.

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?
Of course I love both, but there is something really special about a series for me.  You don’t have to go through meeting new characters and places as much and can get straight on with the story.  Sometimes novels, especially classics, work much better as stand alones but often contemporary fiction is great in a series.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
Yes – To Kill A Mockingbird, Jane Eyre, The Number 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, The Millennium Trilogy, I could go on.

How do you organize your books? (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.) 
This is the one thing my family/friends don’t get – I don’t organise my books alphabetically,  when it seems as though it would be one of those OCD things I would do.  However, they don’t realise that there IS a method to my (semi)madness.  I  keep authors and series together mostly, but not in alphabetical order.
I have two stacks on my desk in each corner which are mostly series like The Millennium Trilogy, the Jo Nesbo books, the Bourne books and so on – they are holding up my desk shelving unit!!
I have two older bookcases which mostly contain my childhood books, children’s reference books, textbooks etc.  On top  of one of these bookcases I have all the standalone books stacked that I have read recently – which stretches back quite a while in fact.  I take a picture of this from the same spot every month and hope to make a cool animation sometime in the future.
By my desk I have another bookcase which has 3 shelves – the bottom shelf is for the Harry Potter books, some autobiographies and a few randoms; the second shelf has some series/books by the same author on like The Hunger Games and His Dark Materials; the top shelf is my literal TBR shelf – it contains my new books in the order that I bought them, which roughly corresponds to the order I will read them in.  It is currently full with a few books on top – I try not to buy too many new books if the shelf is completely full.

My Own Question: Do you keep record of your books outside of book blogging?
I do  – I have a book journal that my best friend gave to me for Christmas and I write about every book I read in there too.  In a way it inspired me to start blogging because I thought ‘I may as well type up my thoughts and discuss with others seeing as I write them up anyway’.  I also have some lists that I cross books off when I’ve read them.
I also have to massive spreadsheets – one called ‘books to read’ which keeps track of the books I have bought and what order I will read them in; the other is ‘book library’ which lists (almost) all the books I own with various details about them so I can find information on them easily.

So there you are, some details about my reading life.  Let me know if you fill in this survey yourself and I will check it out.

