Full cupboardTitle: The Full Cupboard of Life

Author: Alexander McCall Smith

Date Finished: 31/03/13

Re-Read? : First time read

Challenges? : No

Overall: 4/5 – rather good

This is the fifth book in the absolutely brilliant ‘Number 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency‘ series by Alexander McCall Smith and it was worth the wait of over a year since I read number 4!  Back in January 2012, I loved the fourth book in the series, The Kalahari Typing School for Men, and even though this wasn’t quite as good, the characters and setting were still phenomenal.

These books follow the daily life of Precious Ramotswe, the only female private detective in Botswana and we are constantly kept on our toes with puzzling cases and even more puzzling issues at home.  The plot in this particular book was not too strong for me because it did not really have a key case like the others have had which takes up most of the story.  This book focused a lot more at home and with Mma Ramotswe’s fiancée Mr J. L. B. Matekoni.

The characters are always the highlight of these books, as they are all so amazingly unique and wonderful!  Apart from the main characters, Mma Potokwani, the orphans and the apprentices all have roles to play in this book and as we progress with each book, all the characters continue to develop, which is why I think I always want to read the next one straight away.

The setting in Botswana is so amazing and every time I read one of these books I am inspired to go and visit there.  Especially now after having been to Africa (Uganda) and having seen these kind of people face to face it makes it even more vivid and picturable to me.  One of my ambitions in life is to visit Botswana!  Also, another is to read all of McCall Smith’s works!

Overall, I COMPLETELY recommend this series of books to anyone, as I can’t see any reason to dislike anything in them.  I would strongly suggest that you start with the first book and progress chronologically through, as they all lead directly on from each other.  Another plus for this series is that they make a very welcome and refreshing break in the middle of heavy classics reading for example and are all only about 230 pages long!

