amber spyglassTitle: The Amber Spyglass

Author: Philip Pullman

Date Finished: 27/07/13

Re-Read? : First time read (but listened to audiobook many times)

Challenges? : No

Overall: 5/5 – absolutely fantastic

I will make this post brief as I am busy packing for my holiday to Corsica (tomorrow!) in which I hope to do lots of nice reading!

This is an unofficial re-read – I listened to the audiobook many times when I was younger but never actually read the book (as far as I can remember) but I always loved the story.  This time the book did not have such a powerful impact on me but this is probably because I’m a bit older and also I knew what happens!  The plot is really strong in the whole His Dark Materials Trilogy but especially in this book – you really cannot predict what Will and Lyra are going to do next!  The characters are also so iconic it is effortless to remember all their ways and habits.  I really enjoyed being back in the different universes created by Pullman in particular reading about the Mulefa again! I seriously recommend this trilogy to all teenagers, but to all adults too – it makes you question religion, love and many other things in a very unobtrusive way and also provides you with a truly captivating story and gives you characters that you will never ever forget.

An easy 5/5 from me!

I hope you all enjoy August – I hope to be able to post lots when I am back from Corsica about all the different books I have read!!

