deception pointTitle: Deception Point

Author: Dan Brown

Date Finished: 30/11/13

Re-Read? : First time read

Challenges? : No

Overall: 4/5 – rather good

Wow it’s been a long time since I had time to post on here!  I have been extremely busy with school work, including numerous interviews at universities all round the country!  Hopefully everything will calm down a bit now, leaving me with some time to read over Christmas, but with all the stuff going on musically and at church, I doubt I will get some peace and quiet for a while! Mustn’t grumble though: I love this season and it’s a privilege to be involved in so many different things! – busy in a good way, I call it!

Anyway, back to reading – I finished Deception Point at the end of November although it would’ve been a lot sooner if I’d remembered to pack it for my interview at Manchester University!! I spent 6 hours on the train on my own that day without a book to read…I was not happy! Nevertheless, I read it reasonably quickly once the story had gripped me and I did enjoy it, although at points it was ridiculously unrealistic.

The plot is designed to keep you guessing and gasping all the way through but was definitely ludicrous at points.  To be fair, I’ve come to expect this from Brown’s books and now I’ve accepted how ridiculous the storylines are, I can appreciate how masterfully he manages to keep the suspense building in every sentence on every page.  His books are very hard to put down, and sometimes that’s exactly what you need when reading.

The characters were pretty standard if you’ve read other Brown novels: a hero, a clever, attractive woman, a villain who is infallible until the end and a scapegoat who turns out not guilty at the end!  I didn’t particularly engage with the characters that much, but again, in these kind of books you are not really meant to.  This all sounds a bit negative – I’m not putting Brown down, I am just commenting that the format is quite predictable; it’s not a problem for me.

Overall, the plot was very unique (and silly!) and really did keep me guessing right until the very end and I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good holiday read.  Thanks to everyone who still comes along to read this blog 🙂

