powerof6Title: The Power of Six

Author: Pittacus Lore

Date Finished: 26/12/13

Re-Read? : First time read

Challenges? : No

Overall: 4/5 – rather good

Merry Christmas to you all!  I’ve had a really great festive season this year – lots of food, church, music, family, presents and best of all….lots of reading!  It’s been so nice to be able to sit and read for a good few hours without worrying about school work etc and that’s how I managed to finish this young adult novel so quickly.  I hope you’ve all had a relaxing a Christmas as I have!

This is the second book in the Lorien Legacies series, written by Pittacus Lore and I read the first (I am Number Four) in March 2011!  I had no desperate desire to read this next book, but surprisingly I really got into it and all of today I just couldn’t put it down!  It focuses on John Smith, Number 4, his best friend Sam and the newly met Number 6 as they try to evade capture by the Mogadorians and plan their next move.  The story was really gripping and certainly had some twists and turns that made my eyes widen as I was reading!

The characters were obviously typically “young-adult-esque” with a hero, his loyal best friend, a love interest etc etc but you have to expect that in a book like this.  Six is a really great character and so is Marina; both of their legacies are so cool!! (Sometimes I do have to act my age – reading classics all the time will turn me middle-aged before my time soon 😉 ) Also the characters of Ella and Hector are very engaging – I can picture all of them so well!

I like the way the book takes us round the country and the world a bit and Lore writes in a very readable style so it is really quite effortless to read these books, which is very nice at this time of year.  I have just ordered the third book in the series and when the fourth one comes out in paperback I will get that too.  I have always been an absolute sucker for series – ever since I can remember, I have much preferred reading the next book in a series to something completely new and I haven’t grown out of this.  I do recommend this book and series to anyone who fancies a bit of young adult genre excitement.

